Stitch

Over the past two weeks I have been able to create some wonderful samples using different methods of stitch; all of which have been influenced by manmade and natural objects that I found in museums and places around Cardiff then drew them in my sketchbook.

 I particularly enjoyed writing text using fancy yarns with free machine method. The texture created movement which brought the piece to life. I also enjoyed reproducing my drawings using stitch; I was mostly interested in the straight lines against curved ones but also added different fabrics to some parts of the drawing to emphasize those areas more.

I’ve really enjoyed being in the stitch room and cant wait to go back in a few weeks time, I will try to continue my experimentation with stitch in my spare time when possible.

Leave a Reply

