Current Work

My current work has allowed me to bring together my skills and techniques learnt from workshop to create a final piece influenced from studying my three objects.

 

 

 

I studied and sketched my objects throughout the term, initially only drawing what I saw and not really knowing what the objects meant to me. I later began to look at my objects more in-dept, I wanted to know why I value them, why did I choose them. I sat down one night and analysed my objects thoroughly and it all became clear and I began drawing in different ways, connecting my emotion to my drawings.

The camera captures time and reminds me of the photograph I have of my past, remembering the good times we’ve had and the places we’ve been. This made me wonder why we need photographs to trigger happy memories and why we don’t need any to think about the bad ones, they are easily prompted by everyday occurrences.

 My pocket watch tells the time and made me think about the time I have had, what have I done with my time, how would I change it and when did time begin? These are all questions I asked my self when analysing my objects.

 The binoculars are used to see time from a distance, perhaps wanting to be somebody else or even somewhere else. Seeing something from a distance and not realising how well you life really is.

 

This project has taken me on an emotional rollercoaster, remembering the highs and lows of my life experiences, helping me to express my emotions and feelings within my final piece of work. I’ve always been told to write down my feeling and worries but have never pursued it; my final piece explores my feelings that relate to my objects, combining stitch and printing techniques that I had been experimenting with.

One thought on “Current Work

  1. Hi Emma,
    I’ve just had a look at your blog and I’m so impressed! Your objects project was really good and it looks like you enjoyed it. i hope you have a great Easter break. Hannah

Leave a Reply

